Some of the methods used in advertising are unethical and unacceptable in today’s society.

Advertisements are ways of telling people about products, jobs and services. Different organizations and companies advertise their goods and services in order to increase visibility and sales. Nowadays, many believe that most methods of advertising are immoral and inappropriate. I strongly agree with this notion, owing to the fact that these approaches has done more harm than good. That is, they either promote favouritism or nudity. Some of the ways of advertising sends the wrong messages to viewers. Firstly, light skinned models are often used in adverts, making women with dark skin to believe they are not beautiful. For example, all cosmetic companies employ fair models to promote their products. This in turn, favours one skin tone over the other and therefore, black skinned women turn to harsh chemicals to modify and enhance their beauty. This has led to the recent increment in bleaching of the skin. Secondly, the rate at which woman go naked in the name of advertising is appalling. Every opportunity is ceased to preach nudity. For example, I recently watched a beverage company's advert where a scarcely clothed lady was featured. And I ask, what does nudity have to do with beverages? Not to mention that these indecency exposes young minds to all manner of sexual explorations. In conclusion, although adverts are means through which different companies boost sales, visibility and communicates to the masses about their products and services, I believe some of them go about it in the most unethical and inappropriate ways. Which has caused many women to bleach their skin to look attractive, and children to be exposed to nudity.