Some groups of people have benefited from the modern communications technology but some people have not benefited at all

In many large cities around the world, it has become quite common for people to either live alone or in a small family, as opposed to living in large extended family households. This essay will take a closer look at some of the positive and negative aspects that arise with this trend. On the one hand, this trend does have some positive aspects. For example, different generations want and value different things these days. Many young people do not wish to live the traditional lifestyles of their parents and grandparents. Therefore, living alone allows them the freedom to do as they please without having to face constant judgement or criticism. Furthermore, many older people do not wish to live the hectic, fast-paced lifestyle of modern city life and prefer to live a slower-paced, healthier life in the countryside during their retirement. Living alone, or in smaller family groups allows each generation to leave their preferred lifestyle. However, this trend also brings several drawbacks. Firstly, as parents and grandparents get older, they may face a number of physical and mental health problems, and by living alone, they may lack the care and attention they need for their children. Secondly, children will have less interaction and influence from grandparents, and potentially miss out on important life lessons that can be taught from grandparents who have a lot of valuable life experience. Important traditions and customs may also be lost from generation to generation. And finally, living alone, or in small family groups can lead to poor family bonds between generations. In conclusion, I believe that while this trend does bring some benefits, overall they are definitely outweighed by the drawbacks.