Some governments spend a lot of public money training up individuals to be successful in international sporting events. Some people believe that this money should be spent on things that will benefit the general public instead.

In a wide range of well-developed countries these days, the government tend to allocate budgets of the considerable amount in order to prepare talented athletes for international sport’s competitions such as Olympics. This trend prompts a controversial topic of whether or not these expenses should be utilized for other purposes that meet general interests. I subscribe to the idea that it is absolutely imperative for a nation to be prosperous in overseas sport’s events in order to preserve the sense of patriotism among its members and also, to motivate its young sport enthusiastic individuals. Nothing would stimulate and trigger the feeling of proudness in a nation than achieving international sport’s awards and medals. Considering the fact that athletes present their whole nation outside their country’s borders, when a national team or a sportsman or woman manage to defeat their competitors, this would generate a wave of contentment and happiness among their local community. Accordingly, this is extremely essential for governments to prepare the grounds of prosperity for their athletes, since otherwise, the country would lose face and this would result in general grief. More importantly, governmental funding for international sport’s competitions can ultimately pave the way of attracting youngsters into pursuing an athletic career. In doing so, not only the crime rate among younger individuals would dramatically drop, but also the general health would ameliorate. This means the young generation would have the ammunition to create a relatively more stable society. Considering Sweden as an example, a recent survey by World Health Organization (WHO) demonstrates that the key factors contributing to the high quality of life have grown up to 20 percent since 2010. This study implies that this increase has happened simultaneously with the enlargement of governmental sport’s founding and at the end, it concludes that these two happenings are in a close correlation. Taken together, I firmly hold the view that it is absolutely essential for a nation to be able to gain various international sport’s achievements. For that purpose, compatible state money should be dedicated to training sportsmen and women in the society.