Some governments spend a lot of public money training individuals to be successful in international sporting events. Some people believe that this money should be spent on things that will benefit the general public instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Sports has taken commercial place due to its popularity among people. Authorities of certain countries are spending huge sum on coaching sportsmen and getting them ready for worldwide championships. Some believe that the amount should instead be used on improving public infrastructure. However, I feel that utilization of money on training of sports person is beneficial for that nation as well as its people. Those who say that spending on sports individuals is wastage do not understand the importance of sporting events and its benefits to the nation. These events not only bring fame to the winning person but also increase the nation's pride. Cricket, for example, has not just made the cricketers most celebrated personalities but at the same time has brought fame of many countries. Hence, making countries position strong in the world. For others, who are in favor of these coaching’s know that it can also help in boosting economy of the associated countries. Indeed, it can open opportunities of employment for people if a country gets to host one such event. For instance, when India hosted common wealth games thousands for people got jobs due to all the construction that happened and due to the influx of tourists that visited country. Thus, global sports happenings can bring wealth along it for common people as well. In conclusion, although development of public infrastructure and setting decent budget for public welfare is necessary, investing on sports activities is also required to strengthen the nation's position and for its overall development.