Some governments provide financial assistance for retired, unemployed and disabled citizens. In other countries, families provide support for these people.

The role of financial aid in modern society has always been a question of controversy. There’s a common belief that the governments are those who have the obligation to provide funds for local people, while the others argue that financial support should be the responsibility amongst family members. Nevertheless, I am personally convinced with the idea that the government should take the responsibilities to offer financial help. On the one hand, when it comes to ethical code, family members should be the ones to provide financial aid. Since parents have always been those who carry the weight of their family on their shoulder, there is no doubt that even when the children become disabled or unemployed and play as a burden to a family, in order to fulfil the role of a mother and father, parents must have the responsibilities to supply both emotional support and financial help to the youngsters. Furthermore, scientific studies have carried out that the majority of people with disabilities tend to prefer the help provided from their family rather than from the governments. On the other hand, I believe that it will be more vital and beneficial to improve the living conditions of disadvantaged people if the governments provide financial aid. Since people who are living in poor countries or areas with ongoing armed conflicts are likely to suffer from poverty and injuries due to the costs of wars and natural disasters, undoubtedly it is the duty of the government to give financial support to the local residents. In addition, instead of investing in the military force or industrialization, the governments should spend the majority of budget on helping people who are desperately in need of medical help, food, shelter and education. For example: during the post-war famine in 1945, Vietnamese governments had executed a various range of financial supplies which made a fundamental contribution to the improvement in the living standard of the unemployed and injured soldiers. In conclusion, for the reasons mentioned above, it seems to me that the standard of living of the disadvantaged will be more likely to improve if they receive financial supplies from the governments.