Some governments provide financial assistance for retired, unemployed and disabled citizens. In other countries, families provide support for these people.

It is well known that in some countries, people with special needs such as those who are retired, without a job, or mentally and physically disabled are receiving financial assistance from their government. However, in some other countries, this group of people are living without any subsidy and are forced to rely on their families. This essay will discuss both these political systems and provide reasons for why the system that provides financial assistance is better for the individuals as well as the society. Financial assistance from the goverment is vital and beneficial for people with special needs who cannot live independently. For example, a person who has been in a car accident and become severely injured is unable to function without assistance. Unfortunately, their family members might not be available all the time to provide them with the support that they desperately need. Thus, they need external help in order to survive and make ends meet. In addition, a number of unemployed and disabled people, after receiving financial assistance the government, are able to get back on their feet and contribute to the society. Those who are able to secure employment will also pay income tax which will further help other people to recover from their misfortune. On the other hand, some other governments do not possess the resources to provide financial assistance for those in need. As a result, family members are expected to support these people. Although this places pressure on many family members, they can provide better support especially emotional support for their loved ones. As the old saying goes, “blood is thicker than water”. Furthermore, the people with special needs might enjoy the assistance from their families more than the government. In conclusion, even though disadvantaged citizens may benefit from both systems, I am of the opinion that the goverments that provide financial subsidies are more helpful. Therefore, this form of government should be widely encouraged.