DOCTORS IN MANY COUNTRIES SAY THAT PEOPLE DO NOT DO ENOUGH PHYSICAL EXERCISES. WHAT ARE THE CASUES OF THIS TREND? HOW CAN THE SITUATION BE IMPROVED?

Physical exercise is a very important method of improving one’s health. However, medical practitioners in many countries are of the view that adequate exercise is not done by people; a trend which can be attributed to poor work life balance, and the reluctance on the part of individuals to do enough exercise. These causes of this problem, as well as its possible solution will be discussed in this essay. Today, lots of people spend quite a major part of the day at work, thus, leaving them with little or no time to engage in extracurricular activities, such as exercising. Because this lifestyle has become a routine, exercising by individuals is now almost impossible, as they tend to get home late and tired. Furthermore, reluctance on the part of individuals to engage in adequate physical activities such as exercising is another reason for this worrisome trend. For instance, a recent survey carried out by the department of physical education of the university of Lagos revealed that most people do not engage in exercise because, they lack the motivation to do it, as a reason for this is not seen. In as much as the lack of adequate exercise can be attributed to certain reasons, there is however a solution to this issue. Most Importantly, is the need by the society to sensitize the populace on the importance of regular exercise. Through certain methods such as awareness campaign, people become better informed and well educated on the advantages of routine physical work-out. A case in point is Rwanda, which recorded an increase in the number if individuals that visited the gym after constant awareness campaigns through the media. The positive outcome should serve as a driving factor encouraging similar method in other parts of the world. In conclusion, as stated by doctors in many counties today, people do not engage in adequate exercise. Some of the reasons behind this trend include, but not limited to, poor work life balance and the reluctance by individuals to exercise. However, this trend can be reversed via aggressive awareness campaign by the society, as this will better educate the people on the importance of regular physical exercise.