Some film companies spend millions of dollars on the production of a single movie. Is it necessary to spend a lot of money to make a good movie? What factors contribute to the success of a movie?

It is argued whether big budget is required to make a good cinema. In my personal opinion, I feel that when a movie in made on a grand scale, it automatically makes for a good watch. This essay explores my point of view with examples in order to substantiate my claim. A movie made with a big budget will have a celebrity star cast. The success of a flick is dependent on many factors such as visual effects, story and screenplay and most importantly, the star cast. People visit cinema halls more often to see their favourite actors in action. A star studded line-up ensures that the theatres are packed for at least few weeks making it successful commercially. For example, the star cast of Avengers series, made it an instant crowd puller, thereby ensuring it a grand success commercially. More emphasis is given to the visual effects in a large scale movie. Audiences nowadays want to watch a movie more for its utilization of computer graphics than for its storytelling technique. A big budget automatically ensures that the quality of visual effects is top notch. For example, the computer graphics used in the movie Avatar gave it a Wow factor, thereby making the audiences glued to the screens. To conclude, a picture with a big production value, makes for an appealing watch both in terms of the stars being cast and also in terms of better visual effects, thereby ensuring that it becomes a blockbuster in the cine market.