Some film companies spend millions of dollars on the production of a single movie. Is it necessary to spend a lot of money to make a good movie? What factors contribute to the success of a movie?

Some movie production firms invest a large sum in the production of blockbusters. A low budget film can be profitable hence; money is not the main factor in film production. The perfect story line and characters are the key factors for commercial success of feature film. It is possible to make a successful film at minimum cost. Cinema should have potential to attract audiences. A good script, well written characters and good location are essential to produce a strong movie. If film has a strong story with perfect cinematography then it results in the success at the box office. Many horror thrillers are produced at micro- budget. For example, The Conjuring was produced with new actors but it was an academy award winner movie. Films ability to engage and entertain viewers is the major thing needs to be considered. In other words, it has to connect with their fears, aspirations or beliefs in some way. A movie should shows extraordinary courage of actor in an unusual circumstance. Star – power is not necessary as people come to theatre to be thrilled not to watch a celebrity. For instance, movie like Inception showed a new concept of dreams in an effective way. In conclusion, independent filmmakers can make low-cost but critically acclaimed films if the plot and characterization are exceptional. Nevertheless, major film studios often rely on star power and special effects to achieve commercial success and this recipe has more often than not led to acclaim within the industry and financial rewards.