Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

It is irrefutable that languages play a vital role in the development of a child. Therefore, some people think that a foreign language can be introduced in the academic curriculum at the primary level as opposed to secondary. I, completely agree with the statement, and this essay will elaborate on my reasons with relevant examples to support my viewpoint. To begin with, starting a foreign language at primary school can lay a strong foundation. In other words, more years of learning and practice can result in better fluency and vocabulary. For example, in Western countries, children speak and write in English more comfortably, whilst children in Asian countries. This is because, English is taught in western countries, right from childhood, even when the children have not started to speak. Undoubtedly, practice and time can make a man perfect in any language. Besides, adding a foreign language at primary school is easier for students than later. This means that at secondary schools, students have to focus more on subjects like science and maths, which would help them get admissions in reputed universities. As a consequence, an additional language will add stress and consume their valuable time. A research conducted by the students of the University of Michigan describes that 80% of students score lesser marks in an English subject in 12th-grade compared to an English paper in tenth-grade because the former students are unable to concentrate on subjects other than technical subjects. Indeed, primary schools are the best time to introduce a foreign language subject where it is positively accepted by students. To conclude, it is clear that foreign languages are best fitted at primary schools. This is because, students have more bandwidth to accommodate a new subject, and also, constant learning and practicing is the key to master a language.