Some employers want to be able to contact their staff at all times, even on holidays. Does this development have more advantages than disadvantages?

Many times in the beginning of a recruitment, every employee is given a contract regarding their office hours. By this, every employee who is accepting the contract agreed to follow protocols and rules as written. In the development of employees’ full time availability, they will likely have less days off than those whose days off is clear. In many cases I have experienced, this development is costing more of the disadvantages rather than the advantages. Every aspect in the employment contract has their own pros and cons. The pros regarding this development are if an emergency happened, especially when there was only one person who specialized in the emergency and they were on their day off, such as doctors. This would allow an employer to call in their employees whenever they see fit. Moreover, it would likely increase employees' salaries depending on the office hours they made. Meanwhile, this development would have a large impact on the health of their employees which may affect their job performances. If an employee is not given a clear schedule, they have to be present at all times. Therefore, their sleep schedule and leisure time would be decreased. Based on the medical journal, enough sleep and relaxation can improve someone’s performance at work. In the light of this, lack of sleep and relaxation will be impacting on their mental health and physical health as well. If your employees are not healthy, then the time they give towards the company will also be a waste because they can not give their maximum ability. Therefore I conclude that it will do no good towards the company and its staff if this development is used. Because a successful company is built on how well they treat their employees.