Ques: Some people think that getting a degree from university is the best way to guarantee a good job, others believe that it would be better to go straight into work and get experience.

It is undeniable fact that recruitment criteria in the companies are changing. Although, some people believe that university degree holders land in reputed industries, others believe that learning the right skills with work experience matters more. Before putting forward any opinion, it is important to investigate both the aspects of this argument. On the one hand, it is commonly thought that procuring theoretical knowledge is essential before getting into practical implementation. This is because, only if a pupil has the factual insight on the subject, then only he is fit for the work. For illustration, in Japan, 65% doctors who own MD degree performed well in the hospitals than MBBS degree holders. It is evident that higher post-graduates doctors tend to excel better in their career as compared to medical graduates. In other words, medical practitioners who are aware about the symptoms and repercussions of a disease will be able to diagnose and cure it effectively. On the other hand, it is often thought that 'Experience is the best teacher' and students tend to learn swiftly when they are taught to comprehend while working. This is because, when interns are positioned in an environment directly where they acquire the skill set required for the employment, they ought to grasp it more constructively. For example, in India, 55% agile scrum masters who learned directly at the work platform earned more proficiency than those who completed their masters in the subject. To conclude, while many people say that university graduates secure their job with the degree, others believe that experience enhances the expertise in the subject and hence, helpful to seize a job. After discussing both the views, I personally believe that acquiring an academic degree is the key to bag a good job. Since, I have myself completed MCA from reputed university and now I'm working as a Software Engineer at Microsoft.