Some employers want to be able to contact their staff at all times, even on holidays. Does this development have more disadvantages than advantages?

In the world of cut throat competition, employers are chasing their workforce to be in office round the clock all throughout the year. While this strategy may work in some cases, I think it has more negatives than positives. Also, the trend will remove work life balance and affect health negatively. On the one hand, it has been observed that employees who are contacted during their vacations to support office will feel exhausted, frustrated and tortured. This forces them to take decision of leaving the firm which is a loss of experienced workforce. In some cases, families of few workers are disturbed due to improper work-life balance affecting future of their children. For instance, parents are not able to devote time to their children which leads to poor examination results. Additionally, workers will have poor concentration since they were not able to relax and reenergize during their vacations. Every person is entitled to have quality time away from project work, proved by research. On the other hand, some organizations work round the clock to support their multi-national clients. For instance, outsourcing and call-center companies need their workforce to support the projects around the world. For example, people are contacted to run the business even when they are on a break. This keeps the show on by keeping normalcy and fluency of the project. In addition, one is up to date with current status of the work and can start contributing immediately when he/she returns from holidays. To sum up, it is need of the hour for the firms to contact their employees when they are on a break. However, it is recommended to give them their due time off without disturbing too much of their personal lives.