Several languages are in danger of extinction because they are spoken by very small numbers of people. Some people say that governments should spend public money on saving these languages, while others believe that would be a waste of money.

It is irrefutable that languages are considered as the foundation stone to many civilisations. In the contemporary world, many languages are on the verge of getting lost. There are many people who believe that more amount should be invested to save these languages, while I believe that investing in something like this will be a loss. In this essay, I will present my views with examples. The most significant problem of the regional language is its use. Local languages are rarely used in day to day life. For instance, nowadays communication is mostly done on a global language, talking in a regional language is not considered professional. It is because most of the business partners and clients prefer a language they would understand. As a result, if the government invests a great amount in something like this it will be a loss for them. On the other hand, the regional languages can not be removed from the school's curriculum. In some places the local languages help individual's to communicate in a better way. For example, in India alone, there are more than 30 local languages. It is because of the warmth people get, when a person speaks in their language. It is believed that people having same mother tongue indulge to each other in a better way. The government should consider making local languages compulsory up to secondary school. As a result, they won't have to invest a huge amount and local languages won't lose their existence. In conclusion, Despite several languages having great significance in certain communities. In my opinion, government should only make these languages compulsory to certain class and should not get involved in investing huge amount in it.