some developed countries have reduced the number of school hours. Is this a positive or a negative development?

Shortening of the school day is a topic that has been debated a lot recently. There are advantages and disadvantages associated with shortening the school day, which shall be analysed in this essay. I believe it is largely a negative development. On the downside, a shortened day would reduce the amount of instructional time. For some laboratory classes, reducing the number of minutes in class each day could have A detrimental impact, shorter segments of instructional time might diminish the quality of instruction. Biology, chemistry, art, physical education and music classes all have the potential to be detrimentally affected. Secondly, if the operating time were shortened, the system might have to reduce the number of vacation days or add days at the beginning or the end of the year in order to satisfy the hours requirement. Finally, it would add to the stress of finding daycare for after school hours for those parents who are working full time. On the positive side, reducing the number of hours would allow extra time for students to participate in additional education or vocational experiences. Students from lower income families would have more time for an after -school job to provide supplemental income to their parents. Students might also have the opportunity to participate in internships, perform community services, take advanced classes or investigate another activity that might broaden their intellectual horizons. Furthermore, there may be some financial savings to the school, as teachers would few hours and therefore, would get less pay. The utilities, such as heating, air conditioning, electricity, of the actual school buildings would be used less and contribute to the savings. For example, the potential savings of shortening a school day by 1. 5 hours might result in a savings of 6 percent to 20 percent of the overall budget, depending upon buildings and staffing. To sum up, shortening the school hours would have pros and cons, but the disadvantages far outweigh the advantages.