In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing transport.

Some countries today invest huge sums of money in building infrastructures like railway and roads for public transportation. While some believe that it is more logical to spend a lot of money on constructing the mode of transport mentioned above, others on the other hand, argue that funds should be spent on making the already existing ones better. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument and provide evidence as to why money should be used to improve the other means in place. It is certainly true that fast trains just like the name are one of the fastest methods of transportation. If a car will spend an hour getting to a particular destination, a fast train in contrast, will spend about thirty minutes reaching the same place. So why not invest in these advanced locomotives? A research in Havard university depicts it as the most preferred means of mobility by the masses because of its' time saving quality. In short, some folks will support this idea because of this characteristic. However, other individuals might back the idea for the government to put more on public transportation rather than railways. A case in point is that setting up railways require a lot of resources. A report in the media claims that developed countries like the united states and developing countries like china budgets virtually 50 times for railways when compared to roads and other means. This same situation cannot be compared to third world countries where there is little or no amount to embark on such an expensive project. In addition, when these countries decide to go through with it, such endeavors are mostly abandoned along the way, merely because of lack of capital to continue.