Advances in technology and automation have reduced the need for manual labor. Therefore, working hours should be reduced.

Many divergent views exist on how best to regulate working hours in the 21st century. A great number of people, including myself, are of the opinion that advancement in technical platforms and automation have curtailed the need for manual work; hence, working hours should be minimized. In this essay, I will explain the rationale for my viewpoint on the matter. The primary reason to reduce employees’ working hours is that most of the companies nowadays equipped with advanced technology, which can eliminate human interaction. It goes without saying that when companies acquire advanced automation technology to maximize production and the necessity of workforce is shrunk due to lack of manual work. The Audi automobile company is a shining example of this as they had many labors for car production, but in 2007, they obtained robotics arms which can build many cars in a day compared to skilled workers. As a result, they were able to reduce their staff hours and hired technical force to maintain the robots. Not only such technology leads to a reduction of manual interaction but it also benefits a company to a great extent. It stands to the reason that adaptation of the technology in an organization can bring enormous profits. This means that if 100 employees’ tasks can be completed by one single worker with the advancement in communication technologies such as email, phone, and the Internet; it helps employers to curb the direct cost of the company. Unsurprisingly, a 2007 study conducted by a team of researchers at the The University of Toronto found that 70% of companies were able to recover from their debt after implementing a new communication platform that allowed employees to work from home as these companies were able to save money on physical office space. To sum up, I hold to the opinion that working hours should be reduced as this can be beneficial to the companies to improve their production and profit through advance technological platforms.