Some counties are struggling with an increase in the rate of crime. Many people think that having more police on the streets is the only way to reduce crime.

Nowadays, criminal activity is raising in some countries. Large number of people consider that the only way to combat crime is extension of police force in the town. I somehow agree with the opinion; however, I suppose that this measure may not be enough. On the one side, increasing police patrol on the streets should definitely improve the criminogenic environment. Especially, reducing in rapes, robberies, murders and assault must be expected because offenders as rule escape those places where the crime can be seen by witnesses or where they can be easily caught by the police. In addition, if an attack occurs, the victim will be able to receive help as soon as possible taking in account that security was increased. On the other side, this action may not improve the situation significantly. For this reason, in order to reduce crime in an area, authorities have to imbed cameras on the streets, as well as street lightning should be improved. Apart of that, governments should implement different measures aimed to solve root causes of high crime level in a country. For instance, social programs for the poorest part of population will be a great deal because they will solve daily basis issues of it and hopefully deterrent them against committing an offence. In conclusion, I agree that the growth of offences in some countries can be reduced by extra police force on the streets. Nevertheless, in order to improve crime rates significantly governments should target root causes of crimes and implement social programs in order to mitigate them.