Some people think exposure to modern technology at an earlier age is good for children, while others claim that it is harmful for their development.

Over the past few decades, technology has completely changed virtually every aspect in the development of human society. One of the differences that have been most noticeable is the change in the way that children use technological devices at a very young age compared to previous generations. It is argued by some people that early exposure to advances in technology is beneficial for children’s growth while others reckon that it has a detrimental impact on children. This essay will elaborate on both positive and negative effects of being exposed modern technology at such a young age. On the other hand, the emergence of modern technological devices causes several potentially harmful effects on children’s health and attention span. First and foremost, children become less physically active due to excessive time spent for advanced technology, putting themselves at greater risk of obesity and mental disorders. A four-year study examining children’s habits of using digital devices by the University of Hong Kong found that the risk of being overweight increased by 19. 4 percent when children were heavily reliant on technical equipment. What is more, for children who spent an extra hour a day playing games on computers, tablets or other electronic devices, the risk of developing emotional problems increased by 23. 2 percent (Naomi, 2017). As a result, early exposure to technological innovations could lead to deterioration in children’s health. Secondly, children are incapable of having an intense concentration for long periods of time if they are frequently exposed to the technology from a very young age. A recent report in the New York Times by Matt Richtel who interviewed teachers regarding a correlation between student’s attention spans and technology, pointed that the students’ constant use of digital technology is hampering their attention spans. Furthermore, a Pew Internet survey of nearly 2, 500 teachers found that 87% believe new technologies are creating an easily distracted young generation with short attention spans (Ellen, 2014). Two studies on teachers' views on the impact of digital media on children's learning prove conclusively that young children do have relatively short attention spans by approaching to the modern technology. On the other hand, it is no doubt true that the invention of technological devices has brought some multifarious benefits of children's comprehensive development. In this technology-driven society, most early childhood educators see the technology as a valuable activity centre for learning. Research by Haugland (1992) has shown that 3-and 4-year-old children who use the computer with supporting activities that reinforce the major objectives of the learning programs have significantly greater developmental gains when compared to children without computer experiences in similar classrooms. The merits of providing computers to kindergarten and primary-grade children are considerable when it comes to fostering children’s intellect, including improved motor skills, enhanced mathematical thinking, increased creativity, higher scores on tests of critical thinking and problem solving (Nastasi & Clements, 1994). Equally importantly, children’s interest will be stimulated thanks to the advanced technology since technology presents a wonderful opportunity to reshape 21st-century education. Recent research in the US has indicated that the introduction of technology makes 87% of students more likely to attend class and 72% of them more likely to participate. The other study by Smoothwall found that 96% of teachers believe technology has had a positive impact on the way children participate and learn in lessons. To put it in a nutshell, despite some potential dangers of technologically operated devices to the children’s health and attention span, it appears that these inventions are much more beneficial to the young generation in terms of effective learning tools and intellectual stimulation. From my point of view, the early exposure to advances in technology should be encouraged by taking precautions of overuse such inventions to avoid adverse effects for children’s development.