Some companies sponsor sports as a way to advertise themselves. Some people think it is good, while others think there are disadvantages to this.

These days, many businesses prefer to sponsor sports to Increase their sales turnover. However, people are divided on their opinion. Some consider that sports can bring plethora of benefits for companies as well as sports committees. While others believe that it can damage sports spirit. In my opinion, it’s advantages outweigh the disadvantages. However, the latter cannot be underestimated. This essay explores both views and extract a conclusion at the end. To start with, sports sponsorship Has endless advantages to both, companies and sports committees. Firstly, companies can promote their products and services in front of numerous people. For an example, the famous beverage company named “Coca Cola” sponsored the last Olympics. In return, they expanded their sales to three fourth of global population in just two years. Secondly, sports committees or councils rewarded the players with valuable prizes and develop the sports. All of this is done by the sponsored money. Therefore, it is evident that sponsoring the sports help both parties. On the other hand, opponents regard this harmful for the spirit of sports. They believe sports and money should be kept apart from each other. In other words, when players are keen on money than sports, they damage the quality of the game. In the result, scandals such as match fixing become common. Moreover, players start using performance enhancing drugs to fulfill sponsor’s demands. For instance, two Australian cricketers were banned for lifetime because they were using drugs. Furthermore, sponsoring provide gate through to undesired companies. To illustrate, cigarette brands are prohibited from advertising in sports, but commonly alcohol beverage brands are found sponsoring “Rugby” matches. Hence these problems cannot be ignored. In conclusion, this essay discussed merits and demerits of sponsoring the sports. It is useful for companies and sport councils in number of ways. Despite of the benefits, there are a lot of negative aspects. Such as, harm to the sports spirit as well as individuals. Sports authorities and government need to implement rules and regulations to overcome these drawbacks. So that maximum of sponsored is positively spent for the sake of sports development.