Some companies say that if an employee wants to smoke they must leave the building and smoke outside. This takes time away from work, and the employers insist that this time should be counted as break time. This may not be fair to the smokers who may have to wait a long time to get out of the building. How could this problem be resolved?

Smoking is such a bad habit that it affects the working efficiency and health of the workers and smoking in the office premises brings potential harms to colleges’ health and emotional well-being. Positive solutions should be taken to tackle this worrying trend. I believe that employees should not be allowed to smoke inside the building as all of their colleges will be the passive smokers in this circumstance. It should not be allowed in the first place as the non-smoking workers and employees’ health will be badly influenced by such working environment. In particular, this behaviour will be harmful to female workers who are pregnant and their unborn babies would be greatly harmed. Working environment should be smoking-free area and those who want to have a smoke break should be in the right place. Employees are paid refer to their actual working hours in most industrialised areas. If a worker who smokes and takes frequent breaks during working hours should be either salary-deducted or should work extra hours to compensate the time s/he spends for smoking. It is fair enough because there is a saying that how much you will be paid depends on how much you work. I can understand that many argue that it would be unfair because smokers have to spend a long time walking to smoking areas. It could be solved by construing a smoking room for those certain group of workers on every floor so that it reduces their time in travelling if necessary. However, on the other hand, employees should be encouraged to quit smoking for health reasons by providing a professional course for them. If they could stop this unhealthy habit, the company is no longer necessary to worry about the fairness of walking time of smoking break and building an extra room for them to smoke. In conclusion, smokers should pay for themselves if they hope to smoke in the working and employers have the responsibility to provide staff welfare for them to help to form a good working or living habit.