Some cities have vehicle-free days when private cars, trucks and motorcycles are banned from the city center. People are encouraged to use public transportation such as buses, taxis and metro on vehicle-free days.

Crime has been a menace to society since time immemorial. It is believed that some criminals engage in illegal activity soon after they are set free from prison. In this essay, I will discuss the causes associated with the relapse of these offenders, and put forth some solutions to curb this issue. Delving into the causes of repeat offences, is a dive into a criminal's psyche. People who have been jailed for extended periods of time, often lose sight of who they are as a person. Hence, once they finish their jail sentence and are let out, these people do not know their place in society and how to interact with those around them. For example, in the movie Shawshank Redemption, when a character is set free after spending nearly most of his life in prison, the world around him is alien, so he robs a liquor store for a feeling of familiarity. Hence, I believe that felons break the law again to feel a sense of belonging in the world. Finding a permanent resolution to such problems is difficult. In reference to the above point, we can prevent this behaviour by ensuring that inmates interact with society on a regular basis, in the form of community service. For example, the legal system in Scandinavian countries requires prisoners to complete some part of their sentence, by performing social services such as street cleaning and garbage disposal. This allows them to be a facet of social structure, while repenting for their past actions. In conclusion, alienation of delinquents can have the opposite of the intended effect of rehabilitation, and therefore, restructuring our judicial system to afford lawbreakers the opportunity for societal interaction may be beneficial.