Some cities have few controls over the design and construction of housing and office buidings. People think that they should be free to choose the design they live. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.

The residents do have freedom in the design and formation of their houses and governments has no restriction on constructing buildings with the idea of owners. The benefits of implementing the architecture and construction chosen by the authority of houses have significant value, though the shortcomings regarding this attitude, I believe, have eclipsed all its advantages. To begin with, as the bureaucrats of a country have a loose regulation on building the houses of certain areas, people show their creativity regarding this. This allows designers and constructors to open new ideas and improves the infrastructure of that particular area by using new materials and plans designed by the local authority. Moreover, when the owners of the houses decide to build their buildings, they reflect their personal feelings, attachment, emotions in those places. For example, in Sylhet, there are different types of buildings and houses, which have been created by the idea of the owner, which may, eventually, lead to describe their viewpoint and feelings to this structure. Thus, it expresses a sense of satisfaction and contentment as well, since each house presents with aesthetic beauty with a divine look. In contrast, although people are building their houses without any intervention of governments and construction heart-touching monumental structure with living beauty, the houses are facing various types of problems such as earthquakes, rising sea-levels in coastal areas, to name but a few. This is a huge loss for the property owner, consequently, leads to the mass devastation of various beautiful buildings. To cite an instance, in Vietnam, governments have no rules and regulations in delivering the plan of houses and offices which sometimes, shakes, not only with a Tsunami, but it also blows away roofs with heavy wind and even uprooted the infrastructure. Therefore, the observation of governments before building any type of structure has played a vital role to make the building alive decades after decades. In conclusion, people are, invariably, welcome in choosing their desired design when building offices and houses and some areas are independent from governments' participation in providing design and construction of the residential areas, while it has advantages, but the benefits, in my opinion, have overshadowed by its drawbacks.