Some children find mathematics and philosophy difficult. Some people think these subjects should be optional.

The school curriculum includes several subjects for the overall development of a child. However, few students find mathematics and philosophy difficult; so, they wish to exclude them from their subject-list. In my opinion, all subjects including mathematics and philosophy should be taught at school level. To begin with, at primary level the child is taught many subjects because he can get basic knowledge of all the fields. Unequivocally, if the child exclude subjects thinking it difficult then he would not learn anything. Although mathematics may seem useless for a successful painter in his childhood days, but still he would be benefited by knowing basics, without which he cannot count money or understand profit-loss in his business. Similarly, the knowledge of philosophy builds the cognitive and intuitive skills of a child; making the child learn truth about existence and environment, making him distinct in crowd to learn questioning ideas and discover fact. Admittedly, fundamental knowledge of math and philosophy is needed at school level. On the other hand, the critics argue that teacher' s should foster learning as per the interest of toddler. If a child shows interest in sports, he should be taught only physical education. According to them, forcing math or philosophical subjects on such students is an inappropriate act. As the child is forced to do something he dislikes, it can hamper his overall development. Not all people need to know the algebra and trigonometry as it has less value in their life. Similarly, even ignorant about the philosophical facts of life, an individual can stay complacent and happy. Consequently, every child is different and no subject should be imposed on them. In conclusion, I pen down saying that every person should have at least basic understanding of all the subjects, including mathematics and philosophy; so, these subjects should be mandatory at school level. Every parent as well as teacher should foster this learning in pupils for the betterment of the civilization.