Some children can learn more efficiently by watching TV. Therefore, children should watch TV regularly both in school and at home?

Many people have been concerned about the educational effects of television. While watching TV can help children study more effectively, I strongly disagree that they should be allowed to watch TV frequently both in school and at home. On the one hand, the introduction of the television at home as well as in educational institutes can bring some benefits to the youngsters. First, it is not deniable that television has a powerful influence on children’s awareness because of its wide range of interesting and even inspiring programs. Especially, keeping education as a parental priority in mind, more and more television channels have targeted children by producing many specific educational programs to help reinforce class work. Second, research suggests that spending time on watching television could increase focus and concentration. Television with its magical power of mixing various forms of visual images and sounds stimulates school children’s curiosity and creativity so that they can learn more productively. On the other hand, I believe that watching television can turn out to be significantly harmful if it is not under appropriate control. Without careful supervision, children tend to choose as their favorite TV programs some which are solely designed for entertaining purposes with much violence and inappropriate language. Such unsuitable programs might leave a bad impact on their immature brains and contribute to their negative behavior subsequently. In addition, TV viewing can take away the time that kids need to develop important social skills through conversation and other activities. Moreover, excessive TV watching will probably discourage school children from reading books and other informative material. As a result, children’s cognitive and problem solving ability will be affected. In conclusion, while it is true that through watching TV, children can gain invaluable informational and educational knowledge, in my opinion, TV viewing time should be restricted and under the supervision of parents and teachers.