Some businesses find that their new employees lack basic interpersonal skills such as cooperative skills. What are the causes? Suggest possible solutions.

In recent times, it is most commonly observed in corporate organisations that the new recruits lack mandatory collaborative skills. This essay will explore some of the reasons of the rising trend and suggest probable solutions for the same. One of the crucial causes for the lack of interpersonal skills among the new employees is the inefficient education system. This is because, the majority of the school and college curriculum concentrate on improving the academic scores rather than educating them on the relevance of teamwork in the outside world. For instance, recent research studies have shown that the passing criteria in some of the top educational institutes of developing nations are based on academic scores instead of practical group tasks. Another reason for this growing practice is the inefficient training programs of prospective companies. This is due to the fact that, companies lay more emphasis on past academic records rather than building their training programs around comprehensive team development skills. As an example, nowadays, most of the companies only have theoretical training courses instead of practical task oriented programs in their on boarding schedule. Although the above problems are prevalent, they can be overcome by encouraging team sports at the academic level and inculcating joint training programmes in office. Through interactive sports, students can learn the importance of collaborative skills and combined efforts. Moreover, the companies can also benefit by incorporating training programs based on combined tasks to teach the new employees importance of collaborative efforts. As an example, nowadays, some of the top IT company like Google have started having regular bond building events for their employees to sensitise and reiterate the importance of working together in the professional domain. In conclusion, inefficient academic education system and incomplete training programs at organisation level are two of the important causes for the lack of basic interpersonal skills. However, with incorporating alliance sports at an academic level and including cooperative training programmes in firms these problems can be mitigated.