Some businesses find that their new employees lack basic interpersonal skills such as cooperative skills. What are the causes and suggest possible solutions?

These days, the deficiency in cooperative communication of workers is a concern of many companies. The education and design of the workplace are regarded as primary reasons; therefore, I believe that changes in curriculum at school as well as policies in companies can address this issue. First of all, there are two principal causes of the lack of teamwork spirit. The exclusive attention to academic subjects hinders students from learning fundamental soft skills. Due to the desire for high scores and ranks at school, they tend to allocate a great amount of time for studying theories in books and doing exercise. Consequently, extracurricular activities which offer essential skills are undermined. The second reason is that employees in recent years are given their own cubicles which separate them from the others. As a result, they can have their privacy, but simultaneously sever the connections among colleagues. Secondly, numerous solutions should be adopted to enhance interpersonal skills. First, teachers should provide students with group projects so that they will learn to handle teamwork well. Furthermore, besides formal examinations, ranking and grading should be done based on voluntary work and extracurricular activities to encourage pupils to join. In terms of businesses, employers can create an open space where employees can regularly interact with one another and discuss their work. After a successful project or on special occasions of the organization, there can be a party for both leaders and workers as a bonding activity. Not only does this activity enhance horizontal communication, but vertical one as well. In conclusion, ways of teaching and grading at school and inappropriate workplace design are mainly attributed to the lack of interpersonal skills. My view is that both schools and businesses should alter their conventional methods to alleviate this problem.