Some businesses find that their new employees lack basic interpersonal skills such as cooperative skills. What are the causes? Suggest possible solutions.

Nowadays, it is commonly found that new employees do not possess collaborative skills. Our education system and inefficient training programmes are to be blamed for this situation because they fail to emphasise on team work. However, this is not a matter of concern if team activities such as sports and group projects are made part of curriculum as well as employee induction programme. Major factors behind the lack of interpersonal skills in new employees are our education system and inept trainings offered by the organisations. Many schools and colleges concentrate on improving the academic performance of the students rather than educating them on team work. As a result, students are unaware of the concepts and significance of cooperation and combined efforts. In addition, companies fail to train their potential employees in such skills. Ultimately, new joiners lack cooperative skills as they do not have knowledge of team dynamics and work. Though the above problems are prevalent, they can be overcome by encouraging sports in education institutions and interpersonal skill development training in organisations. Through sports, students can learn how to be cooperative and understand the importance of group efforts. Nurturing these values from a young age will help them when they join firms. Companies also need to conduct training programmes for new recruits on team endeavours. For instance, if a sample project is assigned to a group as part of training, employees will not only develop their technical skills but also realise the values of group work. In summary, new employees lack interpersonal skills because schools and companies neglect the importance of developing personality traits. To tackle this problem, sports should be made a part of the curriculum and organisations should arrange training sessions to enhance interpersonal skills of the individual.