In many places, new homes are needed, but the only space available for building them is in the countryside. Some people believe it is more important to protect the countryside and not build new homes there. What is your opinion about this?

Nowadays, many hold the view that because of the land shortage in metropolises, more residential buildings should be constructed in the countryside. Others insist that protecting the countryside from excessive exploitation is even more important. In this essay, I will Nowadays, many hold the view that because of the land shortage in metropolises, more residential buildings should be constructed in the countryside. Others insist that protecting the countryside from excessive exploitation is even more important. In this essay, I will examine both sides of the debate before arriving at a conclusion. To begin with, there is no doubt that due to the growth of city population and the migration of rural people into urban areas, metropolises such as Beijing and Shanghai are facing the situation of residential land scarcity. In addition, the high demand for residential buildings somehow contributes to the rise of housing price in big cities. Therefore, developing the countryside seems to be urgent. Not only can it provide people with more affordable housing, but the rural area can also benefit from the development of better infrastructure. On the other hand, the importance of maintaining farmland / agricultural land in the countryside cannot be neglected. If excessive amount of arable land is used for residential purposes, there will be a severely negative impact on food production and supply. Moreover, farmers could be deprived of the land they live upon and this may cause social instability in the long run. To summarize, there is no doubt that there is indeed an urgent need for building homes in the countryside. At the same time, excessive development will have a detrimental influence upon the entire human race. In the final analysis, to tackle the problem of housing shortage governments should develop the countryside in a responsible way and ensure that adequate amount of land is reserved for farming.