Some believe that technology, such as mobile phones, cell phones are destroying social interaction.

While it is true that new technologies, cell phones, in particular, are eroding the social fabric of our communities to some extent, in my opinion, if used in a systematic manner, the benefits of these devices are comparatively more than the drawbacks. Admittedly, these days, the usage of mobile phones is one of the main reasons responsible for the disruption of face to face communications. This is because technology has marked its steps in every work sector due to which most of the employees now work from their mobiles or laptops. People can have access to all the latest updates related to work and society on their mobile screen. Therefore, these notifications, messages and emails usually distract the people from their social interactions. However, in my perspective, these distractions are the demand for an hour in order to remain updated and it largely depends upon the people how they manage them. Nevertheless, despite the little destruction of social communication, I believe mobile phones provides many more advantages if used in a proper manner. Primarily, with the help of these technical gadgets, employees can manage their work from distant places. Therefore, instead of destroying social interactions, this allows them to attend family functions, parties and meetings without hampering their work. Secondly, using cell phones people can get in touch with their friends or family members living in foreign countries. For instance, according to a report by the 'Times', with the invention of mobile technology, the social interaction of a person has increased to 50%. In conclusion, although some people destroy their conversations with the excess usage of their mobile phones, I perceive that comprehensive use of these technical devices not only makes a person more up to date by providing the latest information but also more sociable by allowing them to attend family get-togethers without compromising of work responsibilities.