Some believe that one should spend more time being far away from the people we care about, because it is necessary for people to understand the importance of relationship of people we care about, while others think being away from people we care about can

These days, people journey to big malls and centres to shop, resulting in the closure of small businesses. This is a negative development. This essay, will discuss the reasons why I believe so. First of all, the reason I feel that shopping in large malls instead of the small ones is not ideal, is because it will affect the growth of the small and medium enterprises (SMEs). These SMEs are vital for economic growth in any country and as such closure of small businesses will greatly affect the economy. For example, the Nigerian government recognizes the role of small businesses and as such, are investing heavily in them by sponsoring individuals who have great business ideas but lack the funds to establish them. Secondly, when customers go to large shopping centres, they encourage monopoly by the big businesses since there is almost no competition for the big malls. For example, when Shoprite was established in Enugu city, many small businesses closed up because people preferred to go shopping in Shoprite rather than the small shops near them. Consequently, Shoprite gained monopoly since they became the only mall in the town. Finally, another reason for this is that, the closure of small businesses leads to unemployment. These small businesses help to reduce the national unemployment rate, because when they are no more in business, many people lose their jobs and thus, become unemployed. In conclusion, I feel people should patronize small business, instead of the large shops because the benefits to the society are enormous, as discusses above.