Some believe that children should start school after the age of 7 while others think that school should begin from a very young age.

The suitable age of starting school for children has been a subject of considerable debate among educators and parents. While some advocate starting school as early as 4, others insist that their children should be at least 6 when they start school. However, I believe that kids must be mature mentally, psychologically, and emotionally before starting school, which is usually at 6 or 7 for most children. Many parents prefer their children to attend kindergarten at an earlier age because that will give them ahead start in learning. Placing children in a educational and stimulating environment will bring great benefits for young children. Not only will teach them how to read and write, but also will help them develop their social skills by interacting with other pupils. Moreover, some research suggests that children who went to school at four or five have better social skills and less behavioural problems later in formal school. Nevertheless, forcing young children to start school very early can put enormous pressure on them and can have a counterproductive effect. On the other hand, advocates for delaying school for children until the age of 6 or 7 argue that younger children are not ready to handle the stress at school. Most kids at age 4 still lack self-control, and unable to focus their attention for a long period of time. Consequently, the school environment will be too stressful for them and they will not benefit from it. Furthermore, child psychologists warn that forcing young children to start school very early may expose them to an emotional trauma that will affect them later as adults. Therefore, in most countries around the world the compulsory age of starting school is 6 to 7 yeas old. To conclude, I believe that children must be mature emotionally, and psychologically before being sent to school. Parents should not pressure their young kids to start school when they are not ready.