SOME PEOPLE THINK THAT THE GOVERNMENT SHOULD BE RESPONSIBLE FOR CRIME PREVENTION WHILE OTHERS BELIEVE THAT IT IS THE RESPONSIBILITY OF THE INDIVIDUALS TO PROTECT THEMSELVES.

Opinions diverge widely on whether it is the responsibility of the government or inhabitants to prevent themselves from crimes. While some think that government plays a key role in protection, I strongly believe that people should be protective against criminals in their lives. On the one hand, I understand why some people are of the fervent conviction that the government has to prevent crime commitment. Since the government has the power to control a whole country, it is necessary and important for them to take measures seriously to ensure the safety of their citizens. Individuals, as a result, can live happily and have no fear when going out. For instance, one effective crime prevention is to impose strict punishments on dangerous criminals such as rapists, murderers, and terrorists. They can be given the death penalty or long-term imprisonment so that these offenders are separated from the community, and therefore will less likely to harm law-abiding citizens. On the other hand, I strongly believe that self-protection is more important than the government to avoid crimes. As police cannot appear everywhere on the street, people have to defend themselves in case of the presence of crimes. Criminal activities can be taken anywhere, anytime, irrespective of crowded or public places such as parks, schools, and shopping malls. Take Vietnam as a prime illustration. Recently, shoplifting and mugging have been increased significantly in this country. Such crimes often exist in shops and stores in rush hour, even when there are many people moving on the road. On account of their unawareness, lots of belongings and personal assets are robbed. For these reasons, citizens should access to self-defense by keeping their things carefully, learning karate or judo and avoiding wearing too many jewels when hanging out. In conclusion, although some people are of the opinion that the role of government can be effective in preventing crimes, I believe that people can protect themselves against criminals by taking some defenses suggested above.