Some argue that it is the responsibility of parents to teach children about healthy eating habits, whereas others believe that teachers should be responsible for teaching their students how to eat in a healthy way.

There is no doubt that wholesome nutrition is essential for school children. While some people think that helping students imbibe good eating habits is the duty of teachers, I would argue that this responsibility should primarily be assumed by parents. On the one hand, those who believe that teachers should help their students take up good dietary habits might contend that they have a greater impact on youngsters. This is because, they spend several hours a week, teaching pupils on various subjects which are geared towards molding their thinking. Young children and teenagers for example, tend to prefer sweets and junk food over nourishing meals, but the resulting issues such as obesity can hamper their physical and emotional development. By incorporating healthy eating studies and physical activity across curriculum in fun and creative ways however, educators have a greater chance of helping students adopt nutritious feeding patterns. My view on the other hand, is that parents should primarily assume this duty as they serve as their children’s role models in food habits and life in general. The reason for this is that they prepare or purchase many of the meals eaten by their wards and so can provide them with a variety of nutritious food on a consistent basis, as well as teach them to prepare these meals. In conclusion, although teachers can greatly influence their students to eat in healthy ways, I firmly believe that parents are responsible for ensuring that their children inculcate the habit of eating healthy since they serve as their role models in all things.