News media is important in our society. Why is it so important? Do you think its influence is generally positive or negative?

The news media has gained a lot of importance in our society. Through News media we come to know about the daily issues of the community. The news is readily available through newspapers, magazines, television, radio and the internet. Each and every media is a powerful medium, in itself. I personally feel that there is a positive impact of news on people. News help people to learn something new every day. In addition to that it helps people to develop an open and critical mind. As a citizen of a country we all should be aware of our country's economic situation, sports, games which are very well provided through news media and not only one's country news, News about the whole world is presented. Probing further, we can say News allows us to have a broader understanding of local, national and international affairs. News is not only limited educational purpose. It has also come up as the source of entertainment. We can get to know about the release date of the new films and what's going on in the lives of our favourite film stars. However, there are other aspects too, whereas on one hand News is considered as a medium through which we come to know about the economic situation of our country but nowadays the focus of the News has shifted to some less important aspects such as news about film stars are coming to light instead of some serious issues. All in all, I strongly feel that the news media play a crucial role in the society. Internet has emerged as a strong medium of news. Because of news media more awareness is spread among the masses, especially the youth of the country is more enlightened.