Solar energy is becoming more and more popular as a source of household energy in many countries around the world. Why is this? What are the advantages and disadvantages of solar energy?

Nowadays, increasing population has burdened the existing resources of non-renewable energy like coal, petrol, which has enforced people to utilize more efficient and less polluted power resources like solar and wind. These alternative sources have their own advantages and disadvantages. Below paragraphs would discuss both aspects of the solar energy in detail and reach to the conclusion. In the last couple of decades, global population is following the upward trend which increased the consumption of traditional resources that leads to the polluted air and water. This concern contributes to the reason of the alternative power resource, so that it can replace the pollution generated by non-renewable sources. The solar power is one of the solutions to all these problems as it is available all the places and it has no negative impact on the nature. For example, farmers from India had installed the big solar panels on the canal to generate electricity for their farming, which saves a big amount for a farmer in terms of reduced electricity bill. Furthermore, this also helps them to save the water in canal from high temperature in the peak summer. With these advantages, usage of solar energy is getting popularity across the globe and helping them to make a large profit in the business. However, solar energy has some negative features like the initial installation cost of solar panels are significantly high which acts as a major hurdle for adapting it as a universal energy resource. Financial aid has declared by NGOs and several local authorities to promote solar equipments and provide a head start to the normal citizens. Annual maintenance procedure of solar panels is complex and the life span of single panel is less, which impacts its usage negatively. Researchers are working on these negatives, so that these concerns can be addressed in the near future, which would be a significant help to promote solar energy as an important resource. In conclusion, solar energy has all the ingredients to be a part of the efficient source of power which has negligible impact on the nature and surroundings. Hoping the financial negatives would be taken care by inventors in the near future, which would empower people to use it effectively. Therefore, it clearly explains that the advantages of the solar power outweighs the disadvantages of it.