Solar energy is becoming more and more popular as a source of household energy in many countries around the world. Why is this? What are the advantages and disadvantages of solar energy?

In recent decades, solar energy is beginning to become more widely used as a source of household energy in the world. The idea of having solar panels on buildings is becoming more popular with many companies and researchers investing in this particular field. Though it is preferable, there are few disadvantages regarding solar energy usage. The rising popularity of solar energy usage has been since the resource ins unlimited. People have been using fossil fuels as a main energy source for the past centuries. Since fossil fuels took centuries to be produced, the resource is considered to be limited. Using solar energy for energy sources is also considered more eco-friendly. The usage of solar energy does not produce any greenhouse gas emissions, unlike fossil fuels, which are a major contribution to climate change. Solar energy is also claimed to be more economical, as can be easily obtained from natural sunlight. In comparison to fossil fuels or petroleum which requires constant production and distribution of the resource itself, therefore it costs more. Although solar energy has many disadvantages, few drawbacks prevent access to full usage of solar energy. Firstly, the weather is a major factor in solar energy usage as many countries do not have constant access to sunlight. If it is the rainy or winter seasons, people will have difficulties in getting energy resources. Solar panels are also needed in gathering solar energy which is shown to have a high installation cost. Thus it might be less affordable for households. In conclusion, solar energy is becoming more popular nowadays because of its eco-friendly traits. Solar energy is also considered unlimited due to its limitless source from the sun. It is also more economical since it requires fewer production costs. However, there are several issues in solely using solar energies such as weather factors and a high installation cost.