Solar energy is becoming more and more popular as a source of household energy in many countries around the world. What are the advantages and disadvantages of solar energy?

Solar These days, solar energy is gaining an increased popularity among many nations as a primary source of energy used in houses. The main advantage of solar energy is that it does not destroy the environment by any means, and the major disadvantage is that it is not sustainable as it is completely reliant on the sun. The primary benefit of using solar power as a household energy is that it is an environmentally friendly method of energy production. This is because the energy is directly made from the sun, and it does not require to be extracted or refined, therefore, the production of the energy is completely clean and avoids the release of toxic gases or waste products to the environment. For example, the BBC has recently reported that if people around the world start to use solar energy in their house, it would make a 32% decrease in carbon dioxide emissions to the environment. An important drawback of this type of energy is that this cannot promise a continuous supply of electricity throughout the year. This is to say that solar energy solely depends on the availability of sunlight, and in many places, the required amount of sunlight is deficient due to the geographical location and extreme climatic conditions. Hence, people in these places cannot exclusively depend on this. For instance, the entire Europe and Canada lack adequate amounts of sunlight during the winter that lasts for a minimum of three months from November to February. In conclusion, the trend of using solar power as a main household energy source is becoming increasingly popular around the world and this is a renewable source of energy which does not harm the environment is its major advantage. However, it does have a disadvantage that this cannot provide a continuous supply of energy in many parts of the word.