Society is based on rules and laws. If individuals were free to do whatever they want to do, it could not function.

A society consists of its people and does have its own rules and by-laws which define the ideal conducts for individuals who are living in the society. These guiding principles are necessary to avoid any conflict by clearly demarcating the do’s and don’ts of the society. But these rules should not come into the way of individual preferences and choices which certainly can create a rift between those who are in power and those who are being governed. To start with, society regulations are a must have for running an ideal society. In absence of which there will be possible contradictions among people as everyone has its own way of thinking. For instance, in our society, there is a by-law which prohibits any kind of disturbing noise to be produced after 10'o clock in the night. This rule makes sure that even if someone organising a function, he has to stop playing music after the designated time so as to make sure no one else gets disturbed. On the other hand, these rules and regulations should not interfere in the personal choices of the individual as it is against the individual autonomy of the general public. Just to exemplify, a state of anarchy in the society is being created after the government of India proposed to make it illegal to sell and consume beef in India. By doing this the government is imposing their personal preferences over individual choices. To sum up, it is quite clear from the above arguments that having a defined set of rules and regulations is a prerequisite for the society to function and avoid any ambiguity but at the same time it is essential to make sure these laws does not comes in the way of individual autonomy.