Social media is becoming increasingly popular amounts all age groups. However, sharing personal information on social media websites does have risk.

Observing the last decade, it can be concluded that social media became exponentially popular. Companies like Facebook and Instagram have made easier for people to connect, share experiences and make a living out of it. But, all of this comes as a cost. Exposing your data with these websites could lead to its inappropriate usage, identity theft and so on. Rise of popularity of social media in my opinion has brought the world a closer place. Humans are a few touches away from connecting with their family or friends. I personally have connected with my long lost friends using these platforms. These platforms also generate employment for a variety of talents. Many entrepreneurs use this to showcase their portfolios and spread their awareness. People of all age group relish to share about their life and experiences through these platforms. I believe this benefits everyone because other people can learn from these experiences and make informed decisions. For example, many people share travel itinerary on social media, observing this one can already know the Do's and Don'ts of a place they want to travel. Like all things come with a cost, social media has a big cost attached to it, in this case it is privacy. Entering this world and to gain its benefits, one has to provide personal details on these websites. This adds a lot of risk, because many online platforms share information with other partners without consent, this earns money for them. Usually, based on your like or dislikes, which could be deduced from your profile, websites show targeted stuff. Identity theft is also a risk factor as hackers know most of your details, which enables them to impersonate you for doing malicious activities. Observing both aspects, I conclude that advantages of social media outweigh its disadvantages, as social media offers increased outreach to people for conveying their opinions, which is very difficult to do otherwise. Knowing the risks, if people smartly choose what to share or not about their personal lives, could lower the risks.