Social media has replaced the traditional method of communicating and people use more and more of social media to communicate and follow news and events. Do you think that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages

Communication in the 21st century has changed compared to what was attainable in previous centuries. Presently, the internet and social networks are seen to be a preferred means for people to interact and connect with news and events around them than the traditional way of communicating. In my opinion, I believe that the gains and benefits of social networks far supersede the drawbacks and should be encouraged. The use of phones and other modern devices has made interaction easy in today’s world. To expatiate, social media has been able to connect people in few seconds irrespective of where they are around the globe. Through this means, families can reach out to their loved ones in other locations thereby, reducing the impact of their absence. Furthermore, with social applications like WhatsApp and telegram, lots of people can connect, share information and get updates on events and happenings around their world. Consequently, this helps the society stay informed even without having to be present at a scene. For instance, through the internet, students can interact with their colleagues at their convenience, get information and materials online and be up to date in their classwork. Nonetheless, some other people think that the traditional way of communicating through letters keeps information private and secured. They assert that the internet and social media can be porous to internet fraudsters and hackers therefore, making communication through these means unsafe. In other words, writing of letters and posting through couriers or post office keeps the information personal to only the recipient. While this may seem true, with the appropriate measures, communication through social networks can be safe. A good example is the use of antivirus and passwords which helps protect information. In addition, social network providers are constantly seeking ways to protect information shared from fraudster and hackers and I believe in no time, this will be a thing of the past. In conclusion, social media has changed the way we think and interact amongst ourselves today. Though it may be faced with hacking and virus threats, I believe the benefits people get from using these media far overrides the problems and should therefore be embraced