Many people buy new phones or laptops to keep up with the latest technology. Is this a good thing or bad thing?

Apparently, easy availability of merchandise has made it possible to buy anything. Thus, people keep on buying new gadgets like phones and laptops to upkeep with the latest technology. This trend is actually worse as it brings along many unwanted results. New phones or laptops will have the newest inbuilt feature. When people buy these, they learn about it by having hands on experience. They, further, will gain knowledge about the latest happenings of the world through these updated gadgets as a result, they are looked upon with respect by their peers. Furthermore, it also gives them the sense of satisfaction and achievement. Having said that, it is an undeniable truth that these gadgets get updated within a brink of time. Thus, to buy these items every time, seriously involves massive amounts of money. Apple has launched two versions of phones within 4 months, the cost of both is above SGD 1, 200. Thus, buying 2 phones within 4 months is sheer waste of money. In addition, those who do not have latest gadgets are looked upon as poor class people and are often left out of the group. If people buy these just to be updated then, one can always explore google or newspapers, which comes very cheap and handy. All in all, the increasing trend to buy new phone and laptops is a bad thing and should be discouraged, as it involves wastage of money and further promotes bullying, in a long run. One can look for alternatives as mentioned above to upkeep with latest technology.