Increasing car usage in many large global cities has caused a number of problems. Some cities have proposed banning private vehicles from the city centre.

Owing to the increased number of vehicle movement in major cities, it has been suggested that private cars be restricted from plying major roads in the cities. In my opinion, i agree that personal cars be banned from popular road networks in other to decrease traffic congestion and road accident. Firstly, big cities have experienced constant traffic congestion particularly around city centres. To expatiate, the traffic situation around busy areas disrupts movement of people and as a result, slows down business activities. While this problem is due to the rise in number of private vehicles plying the roads, this can be managed by restricting private cars from driving around popular areas. Consequently, commuters are made to use public transport, thereby, decongestion the roads. For instance, the government of Kaduna state have recently banned private vehicles plying the city and this has reduced traffic congestion while increasing revenue through public transport. Another reason why private cars should be banned is because of the high rate of car accidents. Car accidents caused by private vehicles keeps rising and if this continues, the society will incur unnecessary cost maintaining the roads. However, this can be curbed through providing other means of transport like rails and discouraging personal vehicle moving around major areas. For example, in cities where rail system are effective, people prefer to use trains than cars because it has a low accident rate. In conclusion, banning private cars is a successful way to keep the roads safe while ensuring a free flow of business activities. This i believe will reduce government spending on road maintenance while increasing revenue from public transport and trains.