Social media has a negative impact on society

The drawback of social media is a debatable topic. While some believe social media is merely for entertainment, others do not. This essay completely agrees with the statement that social media has devastating disadvantages. This essay will discuss the psychological impacts on individuals and society as a whole. The effect social media has on an individuals psyche cannot be ignored. Social Media has an extremely high demand for perfection. To add, individuals feel the need to always be in tip-top shape on applications such as Instagram. Furthermore, in reality, no one is perfect, we all have unique flaws that make us who we are. This constant need to look appealing to others is very detrimental to one's psychological health. For example, studies have shown "overuse of social media is directly linked with depressive disorders of the mind". In today's society, social media has taken over peoples " real" social experiences, we are faced with a zombie population, living inside of their phones. Moreover, casual conversations such as the ones at restaurants are now very outdated as people are too busy scrolling through their phones. We as a society have forgotten how to communicate physically. We are to preoccupied on our devices to see and interact with what is in front of us. I believe this is very dangerous behavior, as human beings our progression as a species sits on our ability to recognize and interact with our environment. For example, in my personal experience, I have noticed that a lot of my peers have developed a serious time-consuming obsession with social media. Which as a result has caused them social anxiety the second they put their phones down to engage in a real concersayoon. To conclude, I believe social media has destroyed a huge portion of our personalities. In addition, not only has it numbed our uniqueness as individuals but it has paralyzed society altogether. The psycho-social impact of social networking is an issue that needs serious contemplation and urgent resolution.