Media surrounds us, from the shows we watch on television to the music we listen to on the radio. How does media affect the society? Do you agree that the impact of media has more disadvantages than benefits?

In this modern era, media has completely pervaded our life due to the easy accessibility of entertainment means such as radio, television, internet etc. It has both negative and positive influence on society. In my opinion, the disadvantages of media outweigh its advantages. Firstly, presence of media leads to the spreading of fake news. Many people misuse media as a source of creating rumors. This results in the outspread of wrong and sensationalized news which consequently develops a sense of fear and negativity in society. For example, the false news of any celebrity' s demise often goes viral on social media sites like Facebook or Instagram. Moreover, media is responsible for developing anger as well as immorality among people. There are numerous TV shows that contain a lot of violence and bloodshed. Such kind of programs create an atrocious picture of society and thus badly affect people, especially youngsters. One can say that media also incites people in committing crimes. However, it is also agreeable that media is deemed useful in many ways. Nowadays, people get updated with latest news and current affairs due to the easy access to media on mobile phones, laptops, TV etc. Modern people are wary of what' s happening in their surroundings and what are the latest ongoing trends in world. For instance, there are various news channels that not only telecast news, but also air programs in different fields such as technology. Therefore, media keeps you more updated and cautious about the recent activities of the world. To recapitulate, although media has various educational benefits, but its limitations are far more visible than its advantages.