Smoking not only harms the smoker, but also those who are nearby. Therefore, smoking should be banned in public places.

Smoking causes adverse effects to smokers and to nearby people. There are many cases observed across the globe, where passive smokers are undergoing severe illness as smokers. I strongly agree that smoking must be restricted in public areas. This essay will describe the impacts of smoking on the environment and to the people around. Admittedly, smoking is a highly influential habit across people of all ages. Many countries have age restrictions to buy cigarettes. For example, USA and Canada have imposed 21 year age limit and sellers must check buyers' identity cards to verify their age. Despite such measures, under aged people are still buying through friends. They seem to smoke in public places, especially outside the stores and car parking lots. Some of the retail outlets like Walmart and Costco have large parking lots where many smokers can be found. Moreover, they throw the buds on the grounds and apparently litter the environment. On the other hand, there are many alternatives to cigarette which can be found in regular convenient stores. Some of them includes vapours and electronic cigarette, which is less harmful to consumers. Chain smokers can use them to suppress their addiction. However, none of them should be permitted at nearby shops, buildings, schools, hospitals and other public areas. Some countries have very serious punishments for the offenders. For example, UAE doesn't even sell liquors and any form of tobacco anywhere in their country and those who found violating the law has been punished through jail sentences. To conclude, smokers should consider near by people in mind before they start smoking and should obey government laws and regulations. Many stores sell cigarettes' in loose and in such cases, the government can impose strict guidelines to sellers about sale timings and other aspects through which they can bring down public smoking.