Many office authorities impose a restriction on smoking within the office premises. Some governments have even banned smoking in all public places. This is a good idea but it takes away some of our freedom. What are your opinions.

Considering the health of smokers, governments and some corporations are taking steps to restrain people from smoking publicly and in work premises. A few sections of society think that this is a positive movement of authorities, however, others argue that such initiatives will curb their freedom. In my opinion smokers should be allowed to smoke in designated areas away from public and this essay will discuss various reasons for my standpoint. Firstly, smoking significantly affects the fitness and is the biggest cause of oral and lung cancer. Even the secondhand smokers, people who inhale smoke release by smokers, are equally prone to the diseases. For example, in a country like America, designated smoking areas are built and smoking in public places is banned and fines are imposed if anyone is found using cigarettes in public place. Therefore, looking at the enormous risk, smokers and non- smokers should be segregated. However, some believed that restricting people from smoking in public and office places is an unfavourable regulation and has taken away some of their rights. Smokers argue that cigarette smoking has direct relation to their workplace performance as a result, such restrictions will disturb their daily life. For instance, it has noticed that many employees just leave the organization just because it puts high rules for a smoker. Hence, the compete restrain should not be implemented all of sudden and the smokers should be given the chance to quit the smoking habit. In conclusion, due to various health related problems, the regulations bring by many authorities will put a positive impact on society. On the other hand, if alternative smoking location made available, smoking can be banned at all public locations without making any controversy.