Many office authorities impose a restriction on smoking within the office premises. Some governments have even banned smoking in all public places. This is a good idea but it takes away some of our freedom. What is your opinion?

It is often argued by some people that their individual rights are snatched away when they are not allowed to smoke in public areas, while there are others who welcome this restriction. Personally, I believe that these types of bans should be implemented for both the benefit of the environment. Firstly, public smoking is bad for public health. In other words, when a person smokes outside a private area, then other people are also inhaling the toxic air which could be harmful for their health. One of my uncles, for example, recently passed away due to lung cancer because of passive smoking. Because he always used to be around his best friend who was a chain smoker, my uncle had sadly been exposed to all the toxic air from the smoke. That is why, I firmly believe that more than individual freedom, the society's health should be given more importance by strongly restricting such actions. Secondly, smoking in public could be a bad influence for the next generation. To be more specific, teenagers could look at adults who smoke outside and may become eager to try it out. For example, my own cousin brother started consuming cigarettes at the age of thirteen. All this was because he had been looking at people smoking outside and at a point, he had become desperate to try one on his own. This is why, I think that smoking outside of private spaces should be restricted or even banned for the benefit of the generation to come. In conclusion, I stand firm on the fact that anyone who smokes in public areas should be penalized for doing so, and that individual freedom is only secondary. This is because the toxic air released from cigarettes could be dangerous to public health. Also, people who smoke in public area could be a bad influence for young people like teenagers.