Smart devices have put all of the world's information at our fingertips. What are the drawbacks of this development?

The advent of technology has brought about easy access to any information due to the availability of technologically driven devices such as smart phones. Inspite of this development, there are a number of demerits this has brought which include, people having a boring social life as well as becoming practically lazy. In this essay, the disadvantages associated with smart devices would be discussed. Having an uninterrupted access to diverse information on the internet through technologically powered gadgets has serious disadvantages. Firstly, it has brought about people having a boring lifestyle. For example, individuals no longer socialize with friends and family because, they spend ample time on the internet. Consequently, people now have a stereotyped pattern of living, only concerned about what information they have to gather from the internet, resulting in a boring social life for individuals. A second drawback associated with the use of smart devices is that, it makes people practically lazy. For instance, consider a student who has a research topic to work on and has to gather information regarding this research project, the student no longer sees the need to visit the library because, he believes all the information concerning the topic is at his fingertips. Hence, students no longer apply themselves to the use of the library and therefore, less informed of important information about history. Furthermore, this development makes students physically and mentally lazy. In conclusion, despite smart gadgets helping people get information from the internet easily, it has serious disadvantages, as people have condemned themselves to a boring lifestyle as well as becoming physically and mentally lazy.