Smacking is the best form of discipline.

Parents tend to use multiple ways in order to control their child's behavior. Many people seem to believe that the best way to make children obedient is by beating. Although moderate punishment might be justified, however, I believe that frequent spanking is entirely unacceptable, and this essay will provide evidence on it. Starting with what parents fear is their child getting spoiled. Corporal punishment exactly does that as children become stubborn and develop ways to evade punishments. Though it might yield temporary benefit, smacking makes child immune to it in the long run. Moreover, due to the fear of a penalty, a child may develop a bad habit like telling lies, and this will stick with him forever. Thus, instead of shaping his character, parents ruin it by barbaric acts. Frequently hitting affects the overall well-being of children. He might develop psychological disorders like depression and alexithymia as he loses confidence in himself. Many psychologists now approve the fact that an adult's contempt and misanthropic behavior can be partly attributed to beating at the hands of his parents during childhood. Occasionally hitting children affects them physically: for instance, a hairline fracture or lacerated wound that go undiagnosed and lead to a disability. Furthermore, punishing transmits vertically through generations, and as a result, the victim may become an abuser in the future. Had there been less beating by parents in the past, children would have been treated well. To conclude, parents hit children in order to make them organized. The downsides of this are multi-folds: making them immune, developing bad habits, causing mental and bodily injuries. Therefore, i opine that parents should treat their children with compassion so that the trend of hitting comes to an end.